+49 (0) 421 9600-10

TZI (Technology Centre for Computer Sciences and Information Technology)

The TZI (Technology Centre for Computer Sciences and Information Technology) at the University of Bremen develops technologies for a variety of applications in work situations and everyday life. In addition to basic research, the departments create software for therapeutic, educational and industrial uses as well as for mobile communication.

Because teaching plays an important role at TZI, the research institution provides equally valuable services as a supplier of IT specialists for regional employers. Many students already work with companies while writing their final theses, which helps to strengthen technology transfer significantly.

The TZI also cooperates with companies from the Bremen area in a variety of research projects. Many small and medium enterprises use this opportunity to work on important problems while benefitting from government or EU funding.

Facts and Figures:

  • Founded: 1995

  • Based in Bremen

  • Number of scientist: more than 150

  • Three main research focuses:

    Adaptive communication

    Cognitive Enabled Assistance

    Human-Centered Information Systems

  • Objective: Bridging the gap between basic research and technology transfer in order to develop technologies that support humans at work and in their daily lives.

+49 (0) 421 9600-10

TZI Technologie-Zentrum Informatik und Informationstechnik

Das Technologie-Zentrum Informatik und Informationstechnik (TZI) der Universität Bremen entwickelt Technologien für vielfältige Arbeits- und Lebensbereiche. Neben der Grundlagenforschung erstellen die Arbeitsgruppen auch Software für den Therapie-, Bildungs- und Industriebereich sowie für die mobile Kommunikation.

Ebenso wertvolle Dienste leistet das TZI als Ausbildungsstätte von IT-Fachkräften für die Region Bremen, da die Lehre im TZI eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Viele Studierende arbeiten bereits während ihrer Abschlussarbeiten mit Unternehmen zusammen, sodass der Transfer über Köpfe hervorragend funktioniert. 

Darüber hinaus kooperiert das TZI in Forschungsprojekten mit Firmen aus Bremen und dem Umland. Viele kleine und mittlere Unternehmen bearbeiten in diesen Projekten wichtige Fragen für ihre tägliche Arbeit und profitieren dabei von Fördermitteln des Bundes oder der EU.

Stammdaten:

  • Gründungsjahr: 1995

  • Sitz: Bremen

  • Zahl der Wissenschaftler: Mehr als 150

  • Drei Leitthemen: Adaptive Kommunikation, Cognitive Enabled Assistance, Human-Centered Information Systems

  • Ziel: Eine Brücke zwischen Grundlagenforschung und Transfer bauen, um Technologien zu entwickeln, die den Menschen bei der Arbeit und im Alltag unterstützen.