+49 (0) 421 9600-10

German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) GmbH - Robotics Innovation Center

The DFKI Robotics Innovation Center (RIC), headed by Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchner, develops mobile, next generation robot systems, that solve complex tasks autonomously and interact safely with their environment. The research department closely cooperates with the Robotics Group at the University of Bremen.

In the automotive sector the RIC does research in the fields of electric mobility, autonomous driving, driving assistance and new mobility concepts. From 2009 to 2015 it was responsibly involved in projects of the Electromobility Model Region Bremen/Oldenburg. The resulting "intelligent On-Board Unit (iOBU)" allows an extensive collection and evaluation of position and vehicle data, used for example as a basis for recommendations for action and to support systems with up-to-date information. The robotic vehicle "EO smart connecting car 2", which was developed at RIC, shows from the researchers perspective how vehicles must be constructed and equipped in AI and robotics to satisfy future mobility requirements.  

Facts and figures:

The German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), with locations in Kaiserslautern, Saarbrücken, Bremen (with a branch office in Osnabrück) and a project office in Berlin, is the leading research center in Germany in the field of innovative software technology using Artificial Intelligence. The location in Bremen, founded in 2006, is home to the Robotics Innovation Center. More than 100 employees from all over the world and about 80 student assistants work at the RIC.

+49 (0) 421 9600-10

Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche
Intelligenz (DFKI) GmbH - Robotics Innovation Center

Am Robotics Innovation Center (RIC) entwickeln Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchner mobile Robotersysteme der nächsten Generation, die autonom komplexe Aufgaben lösen und sicher mit ihrer Umwelt interagieren können. Der Forschungsbereich kooperiert eng mit der Arbeitsgruppe Robotik der Universität Bremen.

Im Bereich Automotive forscht das RIC auf den Gebieten Elektromobilität, Autonomes Fahren, Fahrassistenz und neue Mobilitätskonzepte. Von 2009 bis 2015 war es federführend in Vorhaben der Modellregion Elektromobilität Bremen/Oldenburg involviert. Die daraus hervorgegangene „intelligent On-Board Unit (iOBU)“ ermöglicht eine umfassende Erhebung und Auswertung von Positions- und Fahrzeugdaten, auf deren Grundlage zum Beispiel Handlungsempfehlungen formuliert oder Services mit aktuellen Informationen unterstützt werden können. Das am RIC entwickelte robotische Fahrzeug „EO smart connecting car 2“ zeigt, wie aus Sicht der Forscher im Bereich KI und Robotik Fahrzeuge aufgebaut und ausgestattet sein müssen, um den zukünftigen Mobilitätsanforderungen gerecht zu werden. 

Stammdaten:

Das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) GmbH mit den Standorten Kaiserslautern, Saarbrücken, Bremen (mit Außenstelle Osnabrück) und einem Projektbüro in Berlin ist auf dem Gebiet innovativer Softwaretechnologien die führende KI-Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland. Das Robotics Innovation Center gehört zum 2006 gegründeten DFKI am Standort Bremen. Mehr als 100 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt sowie an die 80 studentischen Hilfskräfte arbeiten am RIC.